top of page

Martin Gore Shares New Track "Howler"; New EP Out January 29

Martin Gore, songwriter and founding member of Depeche Mode, today releases the haunting “Howler,” taken from the forthcoming 5-track instrumental EP, The Third Chimpanzee, out January 29 on Mute.


“‘Howler’ was the first track I recorded for The Third Chimpanzee EP,” Martin says. “I resynthesized some vocals that almost sounded human, but not quite. That’s why I decided to name the track after a monkey. I thought that would be a good theme to carry on with the rest of the tracks.”


Listen to “Howler” here. [ ]


Like the entire EP, “Howler” paints a cinematic musical landscape that sounds like a new dawn. Written and produced by Martin Gore, it was recorded at Electric Ladyboy in Santa Barbara, California.


The Third Chimpanzee EP is available for pre-order now on CD, limited edition 12” Azure Blue vinyl (which includes an art print), and digital platforms. Artwork is by Pockets Warhol. Pre-order The Third Chimpanzee here. [ ]


It's been five years since Martin released the acclaimed instrumental album MG. In 2017, Depeche Mode released their global monster Spirit and were recently inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Tune into Martin’s influences and favorite acts with his “Escaping 2020” playlist here.

The Third Chimpanzee EP Track listing

1. Howler

2. Mandrill

3. Capuchin

4. Vervet

5. Howler’s End


bottom of page