top of page


Joywave have released their newest track, “Going to a Place” ahead of the release of their sophomore album Content (out 7.28). The intimacy of this latest track gives way to explosive instrumentation, where massive-sounding percussion and soaring instrumentation play beautifully together. Peppered with lyrics that play into feelings of isolation and feeling out of one’s element, “Going to a Place” displays Joywave versatility outright wherein the track shifts gears into one of their more mellow moods, drifting away into lightly melodic electro-groove.

Joywave is also sharing the artwork HERE + tracklisting and pre-order HERE for Content:

01. Content

02. Shutdown

03. It’s A Trip!

04. Rumors

05. Confidence

06. Doubt

07. Going To A Place

08. Little Lies You’re Told

09. When You’re Bored

10. Thanks. Thanks For Coming

11. Let’s Talk About Feelings

The album title, Content is a heteronym that plays on the theme of CONtent vs ConTENT. The album is produced by Joywave’s own Daniel Armbruster & Sean Donnelly and mixed by Rich Costey, who has worked with artists like Haim, Foster The People, Vampire Weekend and At The Drive In. It will be released via Hollywood Records/Cultco Music on 7.28.

The band shared the title track “Content” HERE with their fans. The visual was shot on a vintage Super 8 and filmed on location at Kodak Tower, Rochester, NY. They shared a new song "Shutdown" shortly thereafter HERE. Joywave will make their return to the live stage touring with Young The Giant and Cold War Kids at the start of August.

Always pushing the creative envelope, Joywave released a mixtape 77777 (2011), their critically-acclaimed EP Koda Vista (2012), a second mixtape 88888 (2013), the How Do You Feel? EP (2014), a full-length debut album titled How Do You Feel Now? (2015) and in 2016 an entire album featuring alternative versions of their song “Destruction” called SWISH, a take on Kanye’s short-lived album title and more precisely the band titled it SWISH in response to the similarity between their 2015 tour art & “Destruction” ad campaign & The Life Of Pablo album art. They collaborated with Big Data on “Dangerous” which hit #1 at alternative radio, while “Somebody New”, “Destruction” and the track “Tongues” (feat KOPPS) off their album How Do You Feel Now? topped the US alternative radio charts as well. Joywave’s touring history is impressive to say the least; they’ve toured with Foals, The Killers, Brandon Flowers, Metric, Silversun Pickups, Bleachers, St. Lucia and played stages like Coachella, Lollapalooza (US & Berlin), Reading & Leeds, Okeechobee, Osheaga, Hangout and Bumbershoot.

Late night has been kind to Joywave, where shows like Jimmy Kimmel and Seth Meyers have welcomed the ingenious band and publications such at Rolling Stone, Billboard, Spin, Entertainment Weekly have praised their music and live performances. Joywave is vocalist Daniel Armbruster, bassist Sean Donnelly, guitarist Joseph Morinelli, keyboardist Benjamin Bailey and drummer Paul Brenner.

bottom of page